That darn elf!

No I am not talking about the big fat one who my children are waiting for at the end of the week.  He is not so hard, I bake him some cookies, put out a little egg nogg, or milk, maybe some shots if he has been really good this year, and let him take all my glory.  I along with Moms everywhere really don’t mind that a guy in a big red suit who plays with elves gets all the credit every year.  Its all good.  However his little helper, he is a royal pain the . . .

I had mixed feelings about Santa for a long time.  As a child I loved the magic of him.  When directly asked my mother never answered if he was real.  She told me “he is the spirit of loving and giving” I drew my own conclusions.  I have no idea how old I was.  But old enough to be ok with it, its not like someone ruined it for me, I just kind of knew and liked that she was willing to let me draw my own conclusions.  I have never directly hyped Santa.  In fact I rearly if ever talk about him.  I don’t have to.  My parents, my husbands parents, our siblings, mass media, strangers on the street, they all take care of it for me.  We could make it an entire season with out me even saying his name.  My children occasonaly ask questions.  I answer.  We talk about Jesus and what Christmas is all about, why we give presents and things like this.  My one mistake was falling for that stupid little elf on the shelf.  TD named him “N” and at least once a week “N” forgets to move in the night and I either have to get up at 3am and come do it, try to remember while I drink my coffee before getting the kids up or explain to them why he did not move.  This year at just turned 4 and getting ready to turn 6 my kiddo’s are happy with “Guess he really liked that spot!”  but I do worry about what I will need to come up with in the years to come.

There are lots of blogs out there by slightly high strung, over achieving moms out there.  And some of them this year (or maybe years past) have come up with some really intresting things to do with these elves.  I on the other hand am left scratching my head.  I don’t want my elf to be naughty, so that eliminates about half of the ideas out there.  If the elf is naughty how is that incentive for my children to behave well?  The whole point to this elf is to inspire a new found desire to be GOOD!  I am pretty sure that a naughty elf does not equal good kids.

This whole Santa and the Elves thing is not all bad.  I get the point behind it.  But as the person who shops for 90% of the gifts here and wraps 99% of them (the jewelry store usually wraps for my husband) I some times want to wring the necks of Santa an his Elves.  And the Elf on the Shelf is not a bad guy (or girl this year, if you bought the skirt at Target!) but he has swept the nation in a fit of creating “better” memories for our children.  And while I get that, it was marketing genius, some days I just want to say “you make more work for me!”  Because, lets face it, he does.

Leave a Reply

